Non-executive Chairman

Matamela Cyril Ramaphosa (57)
Non-executive chairman, appointed July 6 2004
Executive chairman of Shanduka Group (Pty) Limited. Joint non-executive chairman of Mondi plc and non-executive chairman of MTN Group Limited and SASRIA Limited. Non-executive director of SAB Miller plc, Lonmin plc, Macsteel Global BV, Alexander Forbes Equity Holdings Limited and The Standard Bank Group Limited. He is a member of United Nations Global Leadership group which advises the secretary general’s special representative on business and human rights. Cyril is the past chairman of the Black Economic Empowerment Commission has received several honorary doctorates.
Board committee membership: nominations

Chief executive

Brian Joffe (63)
Chief executive, appointed March 1 1989.
Director of numerous Bidvest subsidiaries. Since founding Bid Corporation in 1988, Brian served as executive chairman until his appointment as chief executive in 2004. He has over 32 years of South African and international commercial experience. He was one of the Sunday Times’ top five businessmen in 1992 and is a past recipient of the Jewish Business Achiever of the Year award. Listed as one of the Top 100 Africans of the Year in the Africa Almanac in 2001. Brian was voted South Africa’s Top Manager of the Year in 2002 in the Corporate Research Foundation’s publication “South Africa’s Leading Managers” and represented South Africa at the coveted “Ernst & Young World Entrepreneur of the Year” award in 2003. Voted the Sunday Times’ Businessman of the Year in 2007. Awarded an honorary doctorate in May 2008 by Unisa. Selected in 2010 by WBS (Wits Business School) Journal as one of South Africa’s top 25 business leaders, having made a significant impact on business in South Africa over the last five years.
Board committee membership: Group executive (Chairman), South African executive committee (Chairman), risk and sustainability, acquisition, nominations and transformation

Executive directors

Bernard Larry Berson (45)
Australian CA
Chief executive of Bidvest Foodservice, appointed October 27 2003.
Director of numerous Bidvest subsidiaries. Bernard has 23 years of international financial, administrative and management experience in numerous industries, the past 15 years in the Australian, New Zealand, Asian and European foodservice industries.
Board committee membership: Group executive, risk and sustainability

Myron Cyril Berzack (61)
Chief executive of Bidvest Industrial and Commercial, appointed April 29 2002.
Director of numerous Bidvest subsidiaries. Non-executive director of Allied Electronics Corporation Limited and Amalgamated Appliances Limited. Myron has 41 years’ experience in the electrical industry, specialising in marketing, distribution, financial control and reporting functions.
Board committee membership: Group executive, South African executive, risk and sustainability, acquisition, transformation


David Edward Cleasby (48)
Group financial director, appointed July 9 2007.

Director of numerous Bidvest subsidiaries and associate companies. David was financial director of Rennies Terminals when Bidvest acquired Rennies in 1998. In 2001, he joined the Bidvest corporate office, where he has been involved in both Group corporate finance and investor relations. David was appointed as an alternate director to Peter Nyman on June 28 2006 and appointed Group financial director on July 9 2007.
Board committee membership: Group executive, South African executive, risk and sustainability, sustainability, acquisition

Anthony William Dawe (44)

Chief executive of Bidvest Freight, appointed June 28 2006.
Director of numerous Bidvest subsidiaries. Anthony has 16 years’ experience in the freight industry with most of those years focused in the South African port environment. Prior to this, Anthony’s finance experience was in London and for one of the large accounting firms in South Africa.
Board committee membership: Group executive, South African executive, risk and sustainability, transformation