Executive directors

Brian Joffe   Bernard Larry Berson   David Edward Cleasby   Anthony William Dawe   Lindsay Peter Ralphs    
Brian Joffe
Group chief executive
Age: 66
Qualification: CA(SA)
Appointed: March 1 1989
  Bernard Larry Berson
Chief executive, Bidvest

Age: 48
Qualification: Australian CA
Appointed: October 27 2003
  David Edward Cleasby
Group financial director
Age: 51
Qualification: CA(SA)
Appointed: July 9 2007
  Anthony William Dawe
Chief executive,
Bidvest Freight
Age: 47
Qualification: CA(SA)
Appointed: June 28 2006
  Lindsay Peter Ralphs
Chief executive,
Bidvest South Africa

Age: 57
Qualification: CA(SA)
Appointed: May 10 1992

Curricula vitae of the directors can be found in the directors’ report on pages 68 and 69.

Independent non-executive directors

Cecilia Wendy Lorato Phalatse   Paul Cambo Baloyi   Douglas Denoon Balharrie Band   Alfred Anthony da Costa   Eric Kevin Diack    
Cecilia Wendy Lorato Phalatse
Independent non executive chairperson
Age: 51
Qualification: BA Political Science, (Hons) University of Leeds UK, MA Southern African Studies, University of York UK
Appointed: April 20 2012
  Paul Cambo Baloyi
Age: 57
Qualification: MBA, MDP, SEP (Harvard)
Appointed: April 20 2012
  Douglas Denoon Balharrie Band
Lead independent director
Age: 69
Qualification: BCom, CA(SA)
Appointed: October 27 2003
  Alfred Anthony da Costa
Age: 48
Qualification: BCom (Hons)
Appointed: December 8 2003
  Eric Kevin Diack
Age: 56
Qualification: BAcc CA(SA), AMP Harvard
Appointed: April 20 2012
Stephen Koseff   Alexander Komape Maditsi   Donald Masson   Nigel George Payne   Cyril Ramaphosa    
Stephen Koseff
Age: 62
Qualification: BCom, CA(SA), HDip BDP, MBA
Appointed: June 17 1997
  Alexander Komape Maditsi
Age: 50
Qualification: BProc, LLB (Wits), LLM (Pennsylvania), LLM (Harward), Dip company Law (Wits)
Appointed: April 20 2012
  Donald Masson
Age: 82
Qualification: ACIS
Appointed: March 10 1992
  Nigel George Payne
Age: 53
Qualification: BCom (Hons), CA(SA), MBL
Appointed: June 28 2006
  Cyril Ramaphosa
Age: 60
Qualification: BProc
Appointed: July 6 2004
Tania Slabbert   Adv Faith Dikeledi Pansy Tlakula                
Tania Slabbert
Age: 46
Qualification: BA, MBA
Appointed: August 20 2007
  Adv Faith Dikeledi
Pansy Tlakula

Age: 56
Qualification: DTech (Legal Studies) Honoris Causa (VUT), BProc (UNIN – now UL), LLB (Wits), LLM (Harvard)
Appointed: June 28 2006


Lebogang Joseph Mokoena
Lebogang Joseph Mokoena
Age: 54
Qualification: BSc (Med Sci), MBA
Appointed: As alternate to
AA da Costa on
December 8 200



Audit committee
NG Payne (chairman), PC Baloyi, EK Diack, D Masson

Remuneration committee
DDB Band (chairman), A Maditsi, D Masson

Risk committee
NG Payne (chairman), BL Berson, DE Cleasby, B Joffe, CWL Phalatse, LP Ralphs, T Slabbert

Acquisitions committee
DDB Band (chairman), BL Berson, DE Cleasby, EK Diack, B Joffe, D Masson, LP Ralphs

Nominations committee
DDB Band (chairman), B Joffe, CWL Phalatse, T Slabbert

Social and ethics committee
NG Payne (chairman), BL Berson, DE Cleasby, B Joffe, CWL Phalatse, LP Ralphs, T Slabbert

Ethnicity   Gender
Ethnicity   Gender
Registered office South Africa
Bidvest House
18 Crescent Drive
Melrose Arch
South Africa
Telephone: +27 (11) 772 8700
Facsimile: +27 (11) 772 8970





Smart device options

This report can be viewed on all smart devices.




Download Options

This report is available to download as a full document and in sections